Français   |   Contact Us   |    Login    
TCOSWhat is Orthoptics?Continuing EducationCareer OpportunitiesResourcesMembers
Latest News   |   About TCOS   |   Executive   |   Committees   |   FAQ   |   Contact Us
Co-Presidents - Stacy Liu and Mallory Coughlin

TCOS Co-Vice-PresidentsThe President handles all internal and external correspondence regarding Society matters. She/he organizes the John-Pratt Johnson Lecture and the Scientific Session at the annual Canadian Ophthalmological Society (COS) Meeting. All TCOS Committees report to the President on a regular basis.
Co-Vice-Presidents - Sonia Manuchian and Shannon Steeves

Sonia ManuchianShannon SteevesThe Vice-President is required to assume the duties of the President in his/her absence and assists the President with Society business as needed. She/he is a member of all TCOS committees and chairs the Nominating Committee. The Vice President is also responsible for organizing the TCOS Workshops at the annual COS Meeting.
Past Co-Presidents - Jeff Locke, Elizabeth Carson

TCOS PresidentsThe Past President assists the President as necessary throughout his/her term of office. She/he also chairs the Scholarship Committee.
Co-Secretary Treasurers - Stephanie Sobey and Dawn Pickering

SSobeyD Pickering

The TCOS Secretary Treasurer is a four year term position and is an elected officer of the Canadian Orthoptic Society. The Secretary Treasurer records all minutes of meetings and provides this material to the Society membership. The TCOS registration and directory is obtained and maintained by the Secretary Treasurer. The Secretary Treasurer has signing authority for the TCOS financial accounts, collecting and dispersing all monies pertaining to the functions of the Society. An accurate account of all financial transactions is kept, independently reviewed and submitted to the membership and all other pertinent institutions. The Secretary Treasurer facilitates french translation for all appropriate Society documents and provides this material to the TCOS French members.

COC Representatives - Jocelyn Zurevinsky, Charlotte Riguidel

Jocelyn ZurevinskyCharlotte Riguidel

TCOS representatives to the Canadian Orthoptic Council (COC) have an active seat on the COC and represent the Society at both the Executive and General Council meetings. One of the COC representatives must be bilingual in English and French and both representatives act as liaisons between the COC and TCOS. In addition, one COC representative also holds a seat on the American Orthoptic Council (AOC).

Regional Representatives - Heather Sandusky, Nicole Pereira, Maria Pryde

nicoleMaria Pryde

West (Heather Sandusky): British Columbia, Alberta
Central (Nicole Pereira): Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, and Nunavut
East (Maria Pryde): Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland/Labrador
Regional directors are responsible for obtaining nominations for TCOS positions as indicated by the TCOS Vice-President. They assist the President in forming a Local Arrangements Committee when the COS is held in a province that they cover. Regional directors are also available to assist the President and Vice President upon request in matters relating to TCOS business.

Honorary President - Dr. Michael O'Connor

The Honorary President is usually an ophthalmologist nominated by the society in recognition of their support of Orthoptics and Orthoptists. Their main task is to moderate the annual Scientific Session.

©  The Canadian Orthoptic Society