Français   |   Contact Us   |    Login    
TCOSWhat is Orthoptics?Continuing EducationCareer OpportunitiesResourcesMembers
Latest News   |   About TCOS   |   Executive   |   Committees   |   FAQ   |   Contact Us
International Orthoptic Association Representative - Carole Panton
The role of the International Orthoptic Representative is to represent the Canadian Orthoptic Society on the International Orthoptic Association's (IOA) Council of Management. The control of the IOA is vested in its members. This control is exercised by resolution at general meetings of the Association. All members are eligible to attend and vote at any general meeting except ophthalmologists. Between general meetings, the Council of Management manages the business of the Association. The Canadian IOA rep represents TCOS membership by serving on the Council of Management and the various Standings Committees, Networks, and Special Committees run by the Association. The Canadian IOA rep represents the interests and aims of Canadian IOA members (all TCOS members) and informs TCOS of IOA activities.
Joint Commission of Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology, JCAHPO Representative (Kristen Olford/Allison Crosato)

The TCOS has a primary representative and an alternate who monitor and report on the activities of JCAHPO. It is mandatory that the TCOS representative(s) be JCAHPO-certified.

Continuing Education Committee (Cailin Sheridan/Stacy Liu)

The Canadian Orthoptic Council, COC has created a system whereby continuing education (CE) credits are assigned to various formal and less formal education opportunities. Submitting adequate CE credits is a requirement for Orthoptists needing to maintain their COC certification.The CE Committee is chaired by a member of the COC. Two TCOS members are elected to manage the 2 separate arms of the Committee.
The Committee’s two arms are:

  • Individual submissions of CE activities to the COC
  • Credit application process to JCAHPO, COC and/or AOC

Assembly of Health Science Professions, AHSP Representative (Debbie Zylich)

The Assembly of Health Science Professions includes all national certification bodies for the health science professions, and provincial regulatory bodies that have agreements with CMA. Its mandate is to provide input on accreditation policy and requirements, procedures for program assessment, and other issues related to the health science professions. The AHSP representative should be a member of the Canadian Consortium of Orthoptic Training Programs.

Consortium of Canadian Orthoptic Training Programs, CCOTP (Darren Oystreck)

Provide a forum for communication with the Canadian Medical Association, the Canadian Orthoptic Council via the Education Committee, and The Canadian Orthoptic Society on matters pertaining to accreditation and national orthoptic competencies. Proactively identify, initiate and implement projects which relate to education and research. Develop submissions, responses and press statements, as appropriate, on issues of national importance in the area of education of orthoptists. Maintain relationships with and complement the work of other bodies involved with education for orthoptist including the IOA, AOC, COC and AACO. One member of CCOTP shall be a representative to the Assembly of Health Science Professions.

Scholarship Award Committee (Vaishali Mehta)

The committee selects a topic and students entering their second year of study in a Canadian orthoptic training program may submit a topical paper for consideration. The student must adhere to all committee guidelines. The committee adjudicates submitted papers and selects the best entrant.

Public Relations/Membership Committee (Charlene Gillis/Meggie Caldwell)

To review concerns pertaining to membership enrolment. To initiate opportunities which increase awareness of the TCOS and orthoptics amongst our membership, the public and other allied health professionals.

SubCommittee - New Graduate Liaison (Caitlin West/Kaila Bishop)

To support and communicate with new graduates of Canadian orthoptic training programs in order to improve their academic and clinical introduction to the profession of Orthoptics and the TCOS.

Newsletter Editor (Karen Nicholson)

The first newsletter of the Canadian Orthoptic Society (TCOS) was published in January 2001 and by 2007 the newsletter was named "TCOS Focus". The Focus is a forum for TCOS members to communicate, inform, and learn about their Society and its members.

Executive Expenditure Committee (May Chidiac)

Reviews all requests for financial support and administers the Executive Funding Support project.

Website Committee (Karen Nicholson/Dena Hudson)

Responsible for content changes and information updates to the TCOS website.
Current webmasters: Dena Hudson dena.hudson@rqhealth.ca, Karen Nicholson nicholsonk@cbdha.nshealth.ca and Michael Plante

Registrar (Stacey Durling)

Responsible for collecting and distributing information regarding job positions available for Orthoptists.

Editor and Crest Committee (Heather Fennell-Al Sayed)

Obtain information pertaining to orthoptic journals and their availability to the TCOS membership. Order and distribute, at a cost, TCOS professional pins.

Errors and Omissions Liaison (Heather Fennell-Al Sayed)

Obtain information pertaining to error and omissions insurance and provide these options at a cost to the members of the TCOS.

Historian (Ronna Hjertaas)

Receives, organizes chronologically and stores files and information no longer in current use by the Society.

Local Arrangements Committee

Assists with the organization, administration and event planning of the annual meeting.

©  The Canadian Orthoptic Society

English   |   Contactez-nous   |    Connexion    
LSCOA Propos de L'orthoptiqueFormation ContinueOffres D'emploiRessourcesMembres
Nouveautés   |   À propos de LSCO   |   FAQ   |   Exécutif   |   Comités   |   Contactez-nous
Représentantes auprès de l’Association internationale d’orthoptique - Carole Panton

Le rôle de la représentante auprès de l’Association internationale d’orthoptique (AIO) est de représenter LSCO au Conseil de gestion de l’AIO. Le contrôle de l’AIO est dévolu à ses membres. Ce contrôle s’exerce par résolution aux assemblées générales. Tous les membres peuvent assister aux assemblées générales et y exercer leur droit de vote, à l’exception des ophtalmologistes. Entre les assemblées générales, le Conseil de gestion gère les affaires de l’AIO. La représentante canadienne auprès de l’AIO représente les membres de LSCO en étant membre du Conseil de gestion et de divers comités permanents, réseaux et comités spéciaux de l’AIO.

La représentante canadienne auprès de l’AIO veille aux intérêts et aux visées des membres canadiens de l’AIO (tous les membres de LSCO) et informe LSCO au sujet des activités de l’AIO.

Représentantes auprès de la International Joint Commission of Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology, (IJCAHPO) (Kristen Olford et Allison Crosato)

SCO compte une représentante principale et une représentante substitut, chargées de suivre les activités de la JCAHPO et d’en faire rapport à LSCO. Les représentantes de LSCO auprès de la IJCAHPO doivent obligatoirement détenir la certification de la IJCAHPO.

Comité de formation continue (Cailin Sheridan et Stacy Liu)

Le Conseil canadien d’orthoptique (CCO) a créé un système selon lequel diverses activités de formation officielles ou moins officielles donnent droit à des crédits de formation continue. Pour conserver leur certification du CCO, les orthoptistes doivent participer à ces activités de manière à cumuler le nombre de crédits de formation continue exigés. Le Comité de formation continue est présidé par un membre du CCO. Deux membres de LSCO sont choisis pour gérer les deux volets du Comité :

Soumissions déposées par les orthoptistes individuels auprès du CCO pour faire reconnaître les crédits de formation continue qu’ils ont cumulés en participants aux diverses activités Demandes d’attribution de crédits aux activités de formation, déposées devant la IJCAHPO, le CCO et l’AOC.

Consortium canadien des programmes de formation en orthoptique (CCPFO) (Darren Oystreck)

Le CCPFO fournit une plateforme de communication entre Accreditation Canada, le Conseil canadien d’orthoptique par l’intermédiaire du Comité de formation continue, et enfin, La Société canadienne d’orthoptique concernant l’accréditation et le profil national des compétences en orthoptique. Le Consortium agit de manière proactive pour créer et mettre en branle des projets qui concernent l’éducation et la recherche. Il rédige des mémoires, des réponses et des déclarations à la presse, selon le cas, concernant des questions d’importance nationale dans le domaine de la formation des orthoptistes. Il entretient des relations avec les autres organisations qui œuvrent dans le domaine de la formation des orthoptistes, dont l’AIO, le CCO, l’AOC et l’AACO et complète leur travail.

Comité des bourses d’études (Sarah Whitecross)

Le Comité choisit un sujet de dissertation et les étudiants qui commencent leur deuxième année de formation dans un programme canadien d’orthoptique peuvent tenter leur chance d’obtenir une bourse d’études en soumettant une dissertation sur ce sujet. Les étudiants participants doivent respecter toutes les lignes directrices dictées par le Comité. Le Comité juge les dissertations soumises et sélectionne le meilleur candidat.

Comité d’adhésion et de relations publiques (Charlene Gillis et Meggie Caldwell)

Le mandat du Comité consiste à se pencher sur les préoccupations concernant le taux d’adhésion à LSCO et à accroître la sensibilisation à LSCO et à l’orthoptique auprès des membres de LSCO, de la population générale et des autres professionnels paramédicaux.

Sous-Comité de liaison avec les nouveaux diplômés (Caitlin West et Kaila Bishop)

Ce Comité est chargé d’aider les nouveaux diplômés des programmes canadiens de formation orthoptique et de communiquer avec eux afin d’améliorer leur initiation à la profession et à LSCO, et ce, tant sur le plan de la formation que sur le plan clinique.

Rédactrice en chef du Focus (Karen Nicholson)

Le premier bulletin de La Société canadienne d’orthoptique (LSCO) a été publié en janvier 2001 et, en 2007, le bulletin a été baptisé Focus sur LSCO. Le Focus est un forum à l’intention des membres de LSCO pour qu’ils puissent communiquer, s’informer et découvrir leur Société et ses membres.

Comité du Fonds de remboursement des dépenses du Comité directeur (May Chidiac)

Le Comité étudie toutes les demandes de soutien financier et gère le projet de soutien financier aux membres du Comité directeur.

Comité du site Web (Karen Nicholson et Dena Hudson)

Le Comité se charge des modifications à apporter au contenu de notre site Web et de mettre à jour l’information qu’il contient. Webmestres actuelles : Dena Hudson (dena.hudson@rqhealth.ca), Karen Nicholson (nicholsonk@cbdha.nshealth.ca) et Michael Plante

Registraire (Stacey Durling)

La registraire est responsable de réunir et distribuer l’information concernant les offres d’emploi pour les orthoptistes.

Comité des journaux et des insignes (Heather Fennell-Al Sayed)

Ce Comité doit s’informer au sujet des journaux orthoptiques disponibles pour les membres de LSCO, en plus de commander et distribuer, moyennant des frais, les insignes professionnels de LSCO.

Comité de liaison – Assurance Erreurs et omissions (Heather Fennell-Al Sayed)

Le mandat de ce Comité consiste à s’informer au sujet de l’assurance Erreurs et omissions et à fournir les garanties disponibles aux membres de LSCO, moyennant des frais.

Historien (Ronna Hjertaas)

L’historien reçoit, classe en ordre chronologique et conserve les dossiers et l’information que LSCO doit conserver, mais qu’elle n’utilise plus.

Comité d’organisation locale

Le Comité aide à l’organisation, l’administration et la planification de l’assemblée générale annuelle.

©  La Société Canadienne D'Orthoptique