Français   |   Contact Us   |    Login    
TCOSWhat is Orthoptics?Continuing EducationCareer OpportunitiesResourcesMembers
What Do Orthoptists Do?

The word orthoptics comes from the Greek ortho meaning straight, and optikas meaning vision, and orthoptists are allied health professionals who specialize in the study of ocular motility and visual development. In conjunction with an ophthalmologist (eye physician and surgeon), the orthoptist examines and aids in the diagnosis of visual system dysfunctions involving vision, eye movement, eye alignment and binocularity. Orthoptics focuses on the non-surgical treatment of amblyopia and strabismus.

Orthoptists specialize in the non-surgical treatment of visual disorders such as amblyopia, strabismus and diplopia. The orthoptist is the front line in the assessment and diagnosis of these disorders, and works with the ophthalmologist in formulating and implementing treatment plans.

For example, amblyopia is the lack of visual development, or the loss of visual ability due to disuse of the eye. In order for vision to develop equally, each eye must be capable of forming a clear image of the viewed object. If one eye is turned off axis (strabismus), one eye has a higher refractive error than the other (anisometropia), or there is disease of one eye, then both of the eyes are not viewing the same object or are not receiving equal pictures. Discrepant input does not allow for binocular co-operation, and the brain shuts off the offending eye (suppression). This halts visual development in that eye and the vision stagnates, and in many cases, deteriorates.

It is the job of the orthoptist to aid in the examination of conditions that may lead to amblyopia, and to determine if amblyopia exists. As many of our patients are pre-verbal, the orthoptist must understand visual system development and integrate this with the knowledge of developmental milestones in order to make a sound judgement. To accurately assess visual capabilities, we use a variety of tests designed to work within the brief window of a child's attention. Amblyopia that is amenable to treatment (ie. not caused by disease) may require treatment with glasses, occlusion (patching), and/or penalization therapy (drops). Armed with complete information about the child's visual system, including a fundus exam performed by an ophthalmologist and correct refraction (measurement for glasses), the orthoptist is the front line person in monitoring and reinforcing the treatment plan, and in offering support and guidance for parents.

The role of the orthoptist is quite different in the diagnosis and management of diplopia (double vision). Frequently, orthoptists are called upon to assess the visual function of adult patients for whom binocular vision has been disrupted. Diplopia can manifest from a variety of causes such as ocular disease, systemic disease, vascular disease, trauma, or refractive errors. The orthoptic examination determines how the binocular visual system has been affected, often lending to diagnosis of underlying disease. The orthoptist then takes steps to manage the visual comfort of the patient. Double vision can often be treated with prism therapy, which relies strongly on the orthoptist's knowledge of visual principles and ability to integrate these therapeutically.

The orthoptist is involved in diagnosis and treatment of many other disorders. We play an active role in the care of many ocular conditions in conjunction with the ophthalmologist.
Where Do Orthoptists Work?

In Canada, orthoptists practice in many settings. They can be employed in the public sector in hospital based orthoptic clinics sponsored by provincial or federal government health departments. Others are employed within educational centers teaching the visual system to orthoptic students, students of other allied health professions, medical students, and ophthalmology residents. Orthoptists may work in a private ophthalmology office, alongside other ophthalmological staff and allied health care personnel. In Canada, an orthoptist cannot go into a private practice of his or her own. When practicing orthoptics, the orthoptist works under the auspices of a sponsoring ophthalmologist.

The orthoptist is responsible for a variety of investigations, depending upon their work setting. Orthoptics deals with the binocular visual system, but many orthoptists also take on other challenges within the eye care realm. Many are involved in visual field analysis, specializing in the performance and interpretation of neurological field tests. Others are involved in the research and clinical investigation of physiological eye movement and visual potential. Some Canadian provinces run visual screening programs for pre-school and elementary students where and orthoptists can play key roles in the development of protocol and the implementation of screening and analysis.

Today's Canadian orthoptist can work in many other settings, as the knowledge base gained in the orthoptic training centers provides a sound background for many ophthalmology-related careers. For example, orthoptists can be employed as vision researchers, vision screeners, low vision workers, ipharmaceutical representatives as well as work in the area of equipment development and sales. Orthoptic training, and experience as an allied health professional provide the knowledge for advancement to managerial opportunities within the health sector, to academic positions, or to related ophthalmic fields.
©  The Canadian Orthoptic Society

English   |   Contactez-nous   |    Connexion    
LSCOA Propos de L'orthoptiqueFormation ContinueOffres D'emploiRessourcesMembres
Qu'est-ce que l'orthoptique?

Le mot orthoptique dérive des mots grecs ortho, qui signifie droit, et opsis, qui signifie vision.

Les orthoptistes sont des professionnels paramédicaux qui se spécialisent dans l'étude de la motilité oculaire et du développement visuel. De concert avec un ophtalmologiste (médecin et chirurgien de l'oeil), l'orthoptiste étudie les dysfonctionnements du système visuel impliquant la vision, les mouvements oculaires, l'alignement des yeux et la binocularité, et il aide à poser un diagnostic. Les orthoptistes s'intéressent principalement au traitement non chirurgical de l'amblyopie et du strabisme.

Par exemple, l'amblyopie est une lacune dans le développement visuel, ou une perte de capacité visuelle, causée par l'arrêt de l'utilisation de l'oeil. Pour que la vision se développe également dans les deux yeux, chacun doit pouvoir former une image claire de l'objet visualisé. Si l'un des yeux n'est pas dans son aligné (strabisme), si l'erreur de réfraction est plus grande dans un oeil que dans l'autre (anisométropie), ou si une maladie s'est logée dans un oeil, les deux yeux ne voient pas le même objet ou ne perçoivent pas des images identiques. Cet écart empêche la coopération binoculaire et le cerveau bloque l'apport de l'oeil déficient (neutralisation), interrompant ainsi le développement visuel dans cet oeil. Résultat : la vision stagne, allant jusqu'à se détériorer dans de nombreux cas.

L'orthoptiste aide à l'examen des conditions qui peuvent mener à l'amblyopie et à déterminer si on est en présence d'amblyopie. Comme nombre de ses patients n'ont pas encore atteint la phase verbale, l'orthoptiste doit comprendre le développement du système visuel et intégrer cette compréhension à la connaissance des grands jalons du développement afin de pouvoir poser un jugement éclairé. Pour évaluer avec exactitude la capacité visuelle, nous utilisons divers tests conçus pour fonctionner dans les limites restreintes de la fenêtre d'attention d'un enfant. L'amblyopie qui n'est pas causée par une maladie peut être traitée par le port de verres, l'occlusion (oeil de pirate) et/ou la pénalisation (gouttes). Ayant en mains toute l'information sur le fonctionnent complète au sujet du système visuel de l'enfant, y compris un examen du fond de l'oeil exécuté par un ophtalmologiste et la réfraction exacte (puissance à donner aux lentilles), l'orthoptiste est la première personne qui surveille et renforce le traitement, en plus d'offrir son soutien aux parents et de les guider.

Le rôle de l'orthoptiste est diférent lorsqu'il s'agit de diagnostiquer et de traiter la diplopie (vision double). Les orthoptistes doivent souvent évaluer la fonction visuelle chez l'adulte qui a perdu la vision binoculaire. La diplopie peut découler de diverses causes : maladie oculaire, maladie systémique, maladie vasculaire, traumatisme ou erreur de réfraction. L'examen orthoptique permet de déterminer comment le système visuel binoculaire a été affecté, ce qui mène souvent au diagnostic d'une maladie sous-jacente. L'orthoptiste prend ensuite les mesures nécessaires pour assurer le confort visuel du patient. Souvent, on peut avoir recours à des prismes pour traiter la diplopie. Cette forme de traitement repose fortement sur la connaissance qu'a l'orthoptiste des principes visuels et de sa capacité à intégrer ces principes à la thérapie.

Les orthoptistes peut aussi diagnostiquer et traiter plusieurs autres troubles visuels. Il joue un rôle actif dans le traitement de nombreuses conditions oculaires de concert avec les ophtalmologistes.
Oû travaillent les orthoptistes?

Au Canada, les orthoptistes pratiquent leur profession dans divers milieux. Ils peuvent être employés dans le secteur public en travaillant dans des cliniques d'orthoptique en milieu hospitalier, parrainées par le ministère fédéral ou provincial de la Santé. D'autres travaillent dans des centres de formation et enseignent le système visuel à des étudiants de divers horizons : orthoptique, autres professions paramédicales, médecine et résidents en ophtalmologie. Les orthoptistes peuvent aussi travailler en clinique d'ophtalmologie privée, auprès d'autres membres du personnel ophtalmologique et du personnel paramédical. Au Canada, un orthoptiste ne peut ouvrir sa propre clinique privée. Il doit être parrainé par un ophtalmologiste.

Les orthoptistes peuvent pratiquer tout un éventail d'examens, selon leur milieu de travail. S'ils s'occupent généralement du système visuel binoculaire, ils sont nombreux également à s'intéresser à d'autres conditions qui peuvent toucher la vision. Certains analysent le champ visuel, se spécialisant dans l'exécution et l'interprétation de tests de champ visuel neurologiques. D'autres font de la recherche et de l'investigation clinique sur la physiologie des mouvements oculaires et sur le potentiel évoqué visuel. Dans certaines provinces canadiennes, on a mis en place des programmes de dépistage visuels destinés aux enfants d'âge préscolaire et aux élèves de niveau élémentaire; les orthoptistes jouent un rôle clé dans l'élaboration des protocoles, dans l'exécution des tests de dépistage ainsi que dans l'analyse des résultats.

Aujourd'hui, les orthoptistes canadiens peuvent pratiquer dans de plusieurs autres milieux, puisque la base des connaissances acquises dans les centres de formation orthoptique est solide et peut s'appliquer à plusieurs carrières dans le domaine de l'ophtalmologie. Ils peuvent, par exemple, faire de la recherche dans le domaine de la vision, pratiquer des examens de la vue, travailler dans le domaine de la basse vision, dans le développement et la vente d'équipement et à titre de représentants en produits pharmaceutiques. La formation orthoptique et l'expérience acquise à titre de professionnel paramédical procurent la connaissance nécessaire pour atteindre des postes de gestion dans le secteur de la santé, pour occuper des postes d'enseignant ou pour travailler dans des domaines connexes à l'ophtalmologie.
©  La Société Canadienne D'Orthoptique